Halloween! And Adventures with the Oven.

Halloween day was filled with important tasks.

I beat threeee cups in Mario Kart. Check it.

IMG_3246 IMG_3263 IMG_3224

It was 100cc. I’m still not very good. I can’t beat Shane.. or Brendon. Boo.

Halloween isn’t a big thing in Australia. No houses were decorated on our street and Halloween candy comes in 12 packs. (For like $5 a bag!) I think that given the influx of North American ex-pats, it’s slowly gaining momentum but on the day of, it felt pretty different to home.

Andre carved a pretty sweet pumpkin (the only one on the street). A lot of people were taking photos as they walked by.

IMG_3241IMG_3227

We wanted to dress up and hand out candy – Shane went as a mad scientist and I went as a giraffe.

Getting ready photo:

IMG_3225

Shane was pretty terrifying:

IMG_3228

More costume photos:

IMG_3229 IMG_3231 IMG_3230

The weather was really not in the spirit haha

IMG_3235

But Shane and Andre were. I would recommend expanding the photo to get the full effect of how creepy Shane looked.

IMG_3226

Despite my fears, the night was super fun. We got a total of 10 trick-or-treat-ers. Some of which had KILLER costumes! We also had two random children that Andre gave candy to because they happened to wander into shouting range. I think the direct quote was “HEY!!!! Are you guys trick or treating?! No?? Do you want candy anyways??” And then all the Canadians ran outside to spread Halloween joy.

We sat inside watching Star Wars (and eating lasagna leftovers) while the kids wandered by. At one point a nice lady who lives across the street from us came and tried to give US candy… it was a confusing Halloween moment. But also super nice and cute haha.

Overall, it was a fun, chill Halloween. It was nice to try and represent the tradition in a way that would do home proud. One group of kids took selfies with us in our costumes and told us that we were the “nicest house so far”. Haha success!

The next day was Andre and Brendon’s turn to make family dinner (we do family dinners on Sundays). Andre bought a beer can chicken holder a few weeks back so tonight the dish was ginger-beer-butt-chicken with ginger-beer-butt-chicken-drippings-gravy with barbecued corn and broccoli. Healthy (ish) and delicious. I think that we would all recommend ginger-beer-butt-chicken and also Andre and Brendon’s mad kitchen skills.

IMG_3245

Sunday night family dinner is slightly different than home… beer instead of milk. I’ll have to suggest it when I’m home in December.

The beginning of November is ‘scary freak out time’ in the world of dental students so I tried to make myself scarce and let them study. Thus, adventures in raisin bread!

(From scratch!)

I used this recipe which the boys seemed to like but I wasn’t really a huge fan. I found it a little bit dry and it was a huge struggle to hand knead in all that flour. The dryness may have been my own fault though because I struggled with the cooking time… a lot haha.

Here is the dough rising. You can also see that the homemade table transitioned into a giant fruit bowl for a week or so.

IMG_3249

Here’s my floured counter for rolling! Only we don’t have a rolling pin (or a wine bottle) so I kinda poked it into submission.

IMG_3250 IMG_3251

Continuing the theme of not having proper kitchen equipment, I realized after making two loaves worth of bread that we (Andre) only had one loaf pan. So I also made raisin muffins! Exciting!

Here they are ready for the oven!

IMG_3252

Here they are happily baking in the oven!

IMG_3254

Here they are horrifically burnt by the oven!

IMG_3259

We peeled off the tops and ate the bottoms… Shane was very supportive about the burnt raisin bread … things.

IMG_3258

Andre made some suggestions about oven temperature and cook time… which worked out very well for the bread!

IMG_3260

Check out how swirly it is!

IMG_3261

If anyone has a better handmade raisin bread recipe send it my way! This was like a 60% success.

Miss you all!

Love you all!

Carmel

Leave a Reply

